MEPIS Community Forum

A Linux operating system based on Debian Stable
View unanswered posts | View unsolved topics | View active topics |



Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
No Sound - need help 
Author Message
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice

Joined: Thu Dec 31, 2009 2:48 pm
Posts: 6
Has thanked: 0 time
Have thanks: 0 time
Post # 209065
Post No Sound - need help
I am new to Linux and new to antix.
I have a Compaq Presario 1800T That has a ES1969 (solo -1) sound card.ff
I don't know how to do this kernel compile stuff if that is what I have to do.
I need some help to get the sound to work on this old laptop.
Thanks


Thu Dec 31, 2009 2:53 pm
Profile
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 30, 2008 8:06 pm
Posts: 2952
Has thanked: 52 times
Have thanks: 376 times
Post # 209073
Post 
first things first...

try playing with the different sound levels in kmix. i've done a number of mepis installs and the levels were turned down.


Thu Dec 31, 2009 3:18 pm
Profile
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 5:54 am
Posts: 10890
Location: Tulsa, Oklahoma U.S.A.
Has thanked: 3648 times
Have thanks: 884 times
Post # 209076
Post 
What version of Mepis are you using? The output of lspci in a terminal might help also. You can highlight the whole thing or just part of it and paste it into a KWrite window. Hit save. Then include it in a reply.

_________________
Yes, even I am dishonest. Not in many ways, but in some. Forty-one, I think it is.
--Mark Twain


Thu Dec 31, 2009 3:25 pm
Profile
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice

Joined: Thu Dec 31, 2009 2:48 pm
Posts: 6
Has thanked: 0 time
Have thanks: 0 time
Post # 210608
Post 
can't seem to install kmix. Remember this is an old laptop. Here is what you wanted me to copy
I actuall installed Antix. I don't know what version.
How do I capture the information from the terminal. Crtl-c doesn't work.


Thu Jan 07, 2010 4:25 pm
Profile
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 15, 2006 10:40 am
Posts: 2895
Location: Greece
Has thanked: 381 times
Have thanks: 805 times
Post # 210664
Post 
For antiX, go to control centre -> Hardware -> Adjust mixer

If that doesn't work control centre -> Hardware -> Configure Sound system

Also what does inxi -F (in a terminal show)?

To copy/paste use the Edit option in terminal

_________________
anticapitalista
Reg. linux user #395339.

Philosophers have interpreted the world in many ways; the point is to change it.

antiX "Luddite" - lean and mean.
http://antix.mepis.org


Thu Jan 07, 2010 8:04 pm
Profile
Forum Regular
Forum Regular

Joined: Sun Jul 30, 2006 12:38 pm
Posts: 783
Has thanked: 8 times
Have thanks: 57 times
Post # 210701
Post 
Anti, I have Presario 1830 with the exact same sound card as OP. It just worked out-of-the-box on latest Antix beta,
...with no configuration required The sound card uses the snd-es1938 driver.
Maybe he's using an older version of Antix though.
PS: Small thing inxi -F output doesn't display under xterm because it's white text (displays OK in rox-term with it's black background)

@ dcihon Works fine here - maybe download and try the latest beta version of Antix.
Otherwise, look at # modinfo snd-es1938 to check it's there or try opening up $alsamixer
and look at Master, PCM and Hardware volumes there .
Failing that try # rm /var/lib/alsa/asound.state && alsa force-reload


Thu Jan 07, 2010 10:03 pm
Profile
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice

Joined: Thu Dec 31, 2009 2:48 pm
Posts: 6
Has thanked: 0 time
Have thanks: 0 time
Post # 210831
Post 
Nevermind I found out what the problem was. Someone had shorted out the output jack on the side of the laptop. There was something broke off in it. I couldn't get it out but fussing around with it I got it unshorted and sound started working.
Thanks for everyones help. I have learned some things in the process.



For antiX, go to control centre -> Hardware -> Adjust mixer
I don't have anything that says control center. I am using Icewm as my window manager.


Disks: HDD Total Size: 20.0GB (6.4% used) 1: /dev/hda HITACHI_DK23BA-20 20.0GB
Partition: ID:/ size: 17G used: 1.2G (8%) ID:swap-1 size: 2.10GB used: 0.04GB (2%)
Info: Processes 62 Uptime 21:46 Memory 127.9/185.3MB Client Shell inxi 1.0.17
SS ES1938 (Solo-1) at ports 1400 14c0 14b0 14dc 14d8
Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture Version 1.0.17
Network: Card Intel 82557/8/9/0/1 Ethernet Pro 100 driver e100 at port 1440
Disks: HDD Total Size: 20.0GB (6.4% used) 1: /dev/hda HITACHI_DK23BA-20 20.0GB
Partition: ID:/ size: 17G used: 1.2G (8%) ID:swap-1 size: 2.10GB used: 0.04GB (2%)
Info: Processes 62 Uptime 21:46 Memory 127.9/185.3MB Client Shell inxi 1.0.17

I am wondering if there is a hardware failure with the soundcard in the laptop.
Is there anyway to force it to make any kind of sound?


Fri Jan 08, 2010 2:49 pm
Profile
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 26, 2009 11:56 pm
Posts: 110
Location: Upstate South Carolina
Has thanked: 0 time
Have thanks: 0 time
Post # 210834
Post 
Run this command as root:

alsaconf

_________________
Registered Linux user #494346


Fri Jan 08, 2010 2:57 pm
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 8 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Protected by Anti-Spam ACP Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by STSoftware for PTF.