Adobe releases more secure flashplayer-plugin 10.1

Here is where users who have been using MEPIS awhile and know the basics of linux and MEPIS can ask questions.
Message
Author
User avatar
Adrian
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 6106
Age: 41
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 1:42 am

#11 Postby Adrian » Fri Jun 18, 2010 2:11 pm

It's simple to check if you don't have nspluginwrapper in MEPIS 8.5 and you do have flash running it means it's the native one (don't run MEPIS at the moment, but I'm sure somebody can check).

User avatar
ebbing
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 468
Age: 56
Joined: Thu Feb 15, 2007 5:21 pm

#12 Postby ebbing » Sun Jun 20, 2010 5:38 pm

uncle mark wrote:Can anyone confirm the above?

M8.0 is my main platform, and I'd rather not screw around and mess something up. I've fought with Flash in the past.

Otherwise, shouldn't we expect an update from the repos from Warren?


I went to Adobe and downloaded the latest deb for Ubuntu 8.04, installed it with Kpackage, restarted firefox and went to the adobe test site and it shows I am running the latest version. Flash seem to be working ok

Hope this helps

Tim
Mini ATX, P4 2.8ghz, 2gb, ATI 1600 pro 256mb, Mepis 8 32bit

"Spelling to me is the same as flying is to birds, that why I am a penguin"

http://www.windriders.co.uk/gallery

http://www.xendistar.co.uk

User avatar
luispa
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Jul 23, 2010 8:24 pm

#13 Postby luispa » Sat Aug 07, 2010 5:49 pm

Stevo wrote:Adobe pulled the 64-bit version, users should install enable the debian-multimedia repository and install "flashplayer-mozilla".

Since the stock plugin in Mepis has critical security flaws, everyone should perform this. Perhaps Warren should update the ISOs to include the new plugin, too.


Does it mean that changing to "flashplayer-mozilla" will solve the security hole?

User avatar
lucky9
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 12218
Age: 70
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 5:54 am

#14 Postby lucky9 » Sat Aug 07, 2010 6:19 pm

I believe that's the case luispa.
Yes, even I am dishonest. Not in many ways, but in some. Forty-one, I think it is.
--Mark Twain

User avatar
patzy
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 376
Joined: Wed Apr 14, 2010 7:49 pm

#15 Postby patzy » Thu Nov 04, 2010 9:14 pm

Stevo wrote:

Code: Select all

su -c 'update-flashplugin-nonfree --install'
This script will download the latest version of the plugin tarball, check the md5sum, extract the .so library file and install over the older one.

Mepis 8.0 user's version will not work, though possibly installing the Mepis 8.5 2.8 deb version will allow them to perform the update:

http://www.mirrorservice.org/sites/ftp.mepis.org/mepis/pool/main/f/flashplugin-nonfree/



Painless upgrading, Stevo -Worked like a charm.

User avatar
timkb4cq
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 3360
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 4:05 pm

#16 Postby timkb4cq » Fri Nov 05, 2010 2:55 pm

Stevo wrote:Mepis 8.0 user's version will not work, though possibly installing the Mepis 8.5 2.8 deb version will allow them to perform the update:


No need to install the 8.5 version. If you re-install flashplugin-nonfree from Synaptic in MEPIS 8.0 it will install the latest update (10,1,102,64), and add the update-flashplugin-nonfree --install script that's in 8.5.

Only tested on 32bit for now...

User avatar
timkb4cq
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 3360
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 4:05 pm

#17 Postby timkb4cq » Fri Nov 05, 2010 3:54 pm

Hmmm, on 64bit MEPIS 8.0, reinstalling flashplugin-non-free installs 10,2,161,23 which is the latest 64bit alpha version - which is still vulnerable to the latest exploit. Guess you have to remove flashplugin-nonfree and install the 32bit manually to be safe on 64bit.

User avatar
richb
Administrator
Posts: 12925
Age: 71
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 2:17 pm

#18 Postby richb » Fri Nov 05, 2010 3:58 pm

I was not aware that the 32 bit version would work reliably in a 64 bit system. in the past I have had nothing but trouble trying to use it.

EDIT: By the way what is the latest exploit
Forum Rules
Guide - How to Ask for Help

Rich

Laptop: Acer V5-572G: Intel i5, 12 GIG mem, Intel graphics, SanDisk SSD, 256GB
Virtualbox: Win 7
Desktop: MX-15- 64, AMD A8 7600 FM2+ CPU R7 Graphics, fglrx driver, 16 GIG Mem. Samsung EVO SSD 250 GB

User avatar
timkb4cq
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 3360
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 4:05 pm

#19 Postby timkb4cq » Fri Nov 05, 2010 4:10 pm

richb wrote:By the way what is the latest exploit


http://news.softpedia.com/news/Unpatched-Critical-Flash-Player-Vulnerability-Possibly-Exploited-in-the-Wild-163371.shtml

And for the vulnerability involved

http://www.kb.cert.org/vuls/id/298081

I don't commonly browse in 64bit. I've stuck with 32bit main installs so I could still have my Winmodem operational when the cable goes down, which it does 2 or 3 times a year (the only drivers have a 32bit binary blob). I just see others saying they can use the 32bit flash in 64bit...

User avatar
DBeckett
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 3064
Joined: Sat May 16, 2009 3:59 pm

#20 Postby DBeckett » Fri Nov 05, 2010 4:44 pm

uncle mark wrote:

M8.0 is my main platform, and I'd rather not screw around and mess something up. I've fought with Flash in the past.


Casting caution to the wind, I always download flashplayer.so from Adobe and simply drop it into /usr/lib/flashplugin-nonfree/

Works every time.


Return to “Regulars”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests