MEPIS Community Forum

A Linux operating system based on Debian Stable
View unanswered posts | View unsolved topics | View active topics |



Reply to topic  [ 19 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Help needed testing update to system assistant 
Author Message
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
User avatar

Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2006 7:56 am
Posts: 874
Location: Scotland
Has thanked: 87 times
Have thanks: 45 times
Post # 262642
Post Help needed testing update to system assistant
Hi All,

Following this thread http://forum.mepiscommunity.org/viewtopic.php?f=8&t=29288, I've been trying to get the new, easy way to create a bootable USB drive working in the MEPIS assistant. Attached to this post are the fruits of my labours (both 32bit and 64bit)...

It's working fine on my system, but I'd appreciate help from you all in testing it on your systems to ensure it really is working. Note there is one bug that I'm aware of where the progress bar doesn't work for the new 'isohybrid' option - it works fine for the others. I can't for the life of me fathom why it isn't working... :confused2:

I'd also like your opinions on two specific aspects:
1. what should the various options be called? Previously they were named after different versions of MEPIS, but it really didn't make sense to me. So, I've renamed them, but they could be better.
2. Do we actually need all those options? I'd be in favour of just having two: the 'new' method and a simple format USB.

Please let me know what you think, hopefully they'll work and then I can push the changes onto Warren for inclusion. :-D

To run the program it has to be as kdesu, not root. Running as root will fail. To run it, download the attached file suitable for system and then do the following (replace 32 with 64 if you're running 64bit):
Code:
gunzip msystem32.gz
chmod +x msystem32
kdesu ./msystem32


BTW I've only tested it in m11. It probably won't work in m8.5 and definitely not on m8.

And remember this is testing code so be careful where you run it. I've run it several times with no serious problems, but that isn't to say it won't cause issues for you. You have been warned :eek:

Many thanks!

Edit:
as far as I aware the new 'isohybrid' method will only work with mepis8.5 and mepis11 ISOs/DVDs.


You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.


Last edited by wireman on Wed Feb 16, 2011 4:33 am, edited 2 times in total.



Tue Feb 15, 2011 3:48 pm

wireman thanked by: Adrian, Jerry3904, Utopia
Profile
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 6:13 am
Posts: 10214
Location: Geneva NY
Has thanked: 2959 times
Have thanks: 1895 times
Post # 262686
Post Re: Help needed testing update to system assistant
It won't come up for me. Followed your directions and typed
Code:
kdesu ./msystem32
Dialog box came up, entered root password, pause, and...back at the prompt. Trying 32bit.

_________________
Production: 32 bit, 3.14-0.bpo.1-686-pae. MX-14.2, AMD FX-4130 Quad-Core, GeForce GT 630/PCIe/SSE2, 8 GB DDR3, / and /home on Kingston SSD 120 GB, data on WesternDigital 1TB, Dell SP2309W monitor.


Tue Feb 15, 2011 6:13 pm

Jerry3904 thanked by: wireman
Profile
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
User avatar

Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2006 7:56 am
Posts: 874
Location: Scotland
Has thanked: 87 times
Have thanks: 45 times
Post # 262688
Post Re: Help needed testing update to system assistant
Did you gunzip the download? And are you running it from where you downloaded it?


Tue Feb 15, 2011 6:18 pm
Profile
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 6:13 am
Posts: 10214
Location: Geneva NY
Has thanked: 2959 times
Have thanks: 1895 times
Post # 262689
Post Re: Help needed testing update to system assistant
yes, yes

anyone else confirm?

_________________
Production: 32 bit, 3.14-0.bpo.1-686-pae. MX-14.2, AMD FX-4130 Quad-Core, GeForce GT 630/PCIe/SSE2, 8 GB DDR3, / and /home on Kingston SSD 120 GB, data on WesternDigital 1TB, Dell SP2309W monitor.


Tue Feb 15, 2011 6:30 pm
Profile
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 2:26 pm
Posts: 7082
Has thanked: 389 times
Have thanks: 2294 times
Post # 262690
Post Re: Help needed testing update to system assistant
Jerry3904 wrote:
It won't come up for me. Followed your directions and typed
Code:
kdesu ./msystem32
Dialog box came up, entered root password, pause, and...back at the prompt. Trying 32bit.


I needed to make msystem32 executable.

(right click on it, properties, permissions, click the "Is executable"checkbox)


Tue Feb 15, 2011 6:48 pm

kmathern thanked by: Jerry3904, wireman
Profile
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 15, 2006 10:40 am
Posts: 2911
Location: Greece
Has thanked: 390 times
Have thanks: 819 times
Post # 262691
Post Re: Help needed testing update to system assistant
Any reason why you have to use kdesu and not gksu (or sux)? I'd like to test, but I don't want to install kdesu.

_________________
anticapitalista
Reg. linux user #395339.

Philosophers have interpreted the world in many ways; the point is to change it.

antiX "Luddite" - lean and mean.
http://antix.mepis.org


Tue Feb 15, 2011 6:52 pm

anticapitalista thanked by: wireman
Profile
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 2:26 pm
Posts: 7082
Has thanked: 389 times
Have thanks: 2294 times
Post # 262692
Post Re: Help needed testing update to system assistant
anticapitalista wrote:
Any reason why you have to use kdesu and not gksu (or sux)? I'd like to test, but I don't want to install kdesu.

Do you have su-to-root installed (or the package that installs it) [edit: the package that installs su-to-root is menu]

In Mepis it brings up the kdesu box but it's also supposed to work with gksu and sux.
Using su-to-root the command is: su-to-root -X -c ./msystem32


Tue Feb 15, 2011 6:59 pm
Profile
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2008 2:00 am
Posts: 588
Location: w/coast 5555 ;) high5
Has thanked: 88 times
Have thanks: 122 times
Post # 262725
 Re: Help needed testing update to system assistant
.
hey big guys,

what it did for me was to quickly remove everything that was on the flash drive, sandisk 4 gig/3.7, elive 32 bit lenny :smiley2: just flashed it in a second or two, wow. but when i mounted it it was bare so i tried again with the hybrid option which showed the status bar but went a little two quick, mounted, checked, unmounted and tried again all with the same results empty.

i remembered someone had mentioned using the msystem with 8.5 to usb :) which worked quite well in like five or eight minutes. typing from it now, really sweet and quick boot with nvidia option, correct res... ... created with the first in sig... running on the third, both 64s.
will try again after hearing of better results :clap:

thanks guys :thumbup:
i previously tried the newer downloaded msystem with my M8 64 wheez... but couldn't get it to start :spinning:.
also; above mentioned elive cd is very well done cd if somebody wanted to take a look it contained propriety drivers...

_________________
.
.

speedtest.net
:happy: >>> :spoon-fed: ;-)

Tue Feb 15, 2011 10:38 pm

loco thanked by: wireman
Profile WWW
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 06, 2006 3:02 pm
Posts: 2174
Location: New Zealand BOP
Has thanked: 77 times
Have thanks: 465 times
Post # 262731
Post Re: Help needed testing update to system assistant
64-bit version running as I type on my production laptop, albeit on my old and very slow flash drive (1.5mbps write speed)

Quick question, does the isohybrid option check first to see if the selected ISO image has been prepped with the isohybrid app becasue if it doesn't, then the resultant thumb drive build may very well be useless.

Anyway, the process finished and the thumb drive booted my eee without any glicthes

Mike P

_________________
Mike P

Regd Linux User #472293
(1)Lenovo e520, i7-2640M, 8GB, 750GB Seagate Hybrid, MX-14.1_DVD (my own respin)
(2) Asus M4A88TD-M, AMD Phenom II x4 955 CPU, Radeon HD 4250, 4Gb, 1.5TB, antiX-13-64


Tue Feb 15, 2011 11:27 pm

m_pav thanked by: wireman
Profile
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2006 8:07 pm
Posts: 8695
Location: Skullcrusher Mountain, Santee, CA USA
Has thanked: 582 times
Have thanks: 1953 times
Post # 262736
Post Re: Help needed testing update to system assistant
I think Warren packages his executables with a .desktop launcher that requires kdesu--it may be interesting to replace his binary in /usr/sbin with yours and see how that works (downloading now)

Edit: yup, that works to launch it, after renaming the executable to msystem and making it executable.

Code:
mv msystem64 msystem
chmod +x msystem
su -c 'cp msystem /usr/sbin/'

or use the GUI for that.


Wed Feb 16, 2011 12:48 am

Stevo thanked by: wireman
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 19 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Protected by Anti-Spam ACP Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by STSoftware for PTF.