MEPIS Community Forum

A Linux operating system based on Debian Stable
View unanswered posts | View unsolved topics | View active topics |



Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Icedove links not working in FF7 
Author Message
MEPIS Rules!
MEPIS Rules!
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 2:26 am
Posts: 218
Location: Near Disneyland California
Has thanked: 44 times
Have thanks: 14 times
Post # 285181
Post Icedove links not working in FF7
Upgraded to ff7 per kmathern installer. FF7 works EXCEPT icedove links will not open. I have added the network.protocol-handler lines per wiki. ff7 is default browser.

WEhat did I forget to change?

Siles

_________________
Siles
Registered Mepis User 505527
MiniHal registered 416462
Asus eeepc 1000h - 2gb memory 240gb HD
M12 KDE 4.8.4


Thu Sep 29, 2011 4:34 am
Profile
MEPIS Enthusiast
MEPIS Enthusiast
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 5:54 am
Posts: 10763
Location: Tulsa, Oklahoma U.S.A.
Has thanked: 3526 times
Have thanks: 851 times
Post # 285186
Post Re: Icedove links not working in FF7
Try File Associations in System Settings. Change .html etc.

_________________
Yes, even I am dishonest. Not in many ways, but in some. Forty-one, I think it is.
--Mark Twain


Thu Sep 29, 2011 5:59 am
Profile
MEPIS Rules!
MEPIS Rules!
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 14, 2010 7:49 pm
Posts: 373
Location: Adelaide, OZ
Has thanked: 148 times
Have thanks: 42 times
Post # 285192
Post Re: Icedove links not working in FF7
Did icedove ask you what browser you wanted. If so you have to tell it where to find FF7 by typing in its path. (usr/bin or whatever).
You have to do this even if you have already changed the network protocols in the icedove config editor. And even if you have set FF7 as your default browser in KDE.

I've been caught this way before....


Thu Sep 29, 2011 7:32 am

patzy thanked by: lucky9
Profile
MEPIS Rules!
MEPIS Rules!
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 2:26 am
Posts: 218
Location: Near Disneyland California
Has thanked: 44 times
Have thanks: 14 times
Post # 285207
Post Re: Icedove links not working in FF7
Thats the problem. On this one computer Icedove did not ask, and I can't find where to insert this.

Thanks
Siles

_________________
Siles
Registered Mepis User 505527
MiniHal registered 416462
Asus eeepc 1000h - 2gb memory 240gb HD
M12 KDE 4.8.4


Thu Sep 29, 2011 12:40 pm
Profile
MEPIS Enthusiast
MEPIS Enthusiast
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 12, 2007 1:45 pm
Posts: 5602
Location: Penn's Woods
Has thanked: 787 times
Have thanks: 632 times
Post # 285220
Post Re: Icedove links not working in FF7
I had responded to you in another thread about your problem with this question: Can you run Icedove from a Konsole and see any error messages when you click on a web link? This might give us some clues to work with.

Upgrading to FF 7.0 shouldn't have changed the location of the Firefox executable, so I don't think it's because Icedove can't find it. It might be something a little deeper than that. Any error messages you get will definitely be helpful.

_________________
MX-14; 3.12-0.bpo.1-686-pae kernel using 4GB RAM
2.4GHz AMD Athlon 4600+
NVidia GeForce 6150 LE; 304.121 Display Driver


Thu Sep 29, 2011 4:30 pm
Profile
MEPIS Enthusiast
MEPIS Enthusiast
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 2:26 pm
Posts: 6816
Has thanked: 371 times
Have thanks: 2165 times
Post # 285224
Post Re: Icedove links not working in FF7
Siles wrote:
Upgraded to ff7 per kmathern installer. FF7 works EXCEPT icedove links will not open. I have added the network.protocol-handler lines per wiki. ff7 is default browser.

WEhat did I forget to change?

Siles

What firefox were you using before you installed FF7 with my installer?

The original FF that came with Mepis 11 and Stevo's firefox (and iceweasel) packages have a /usr/bin/firefox symlink pointing back to where the actual executable is.

My installer doesn't create the /usr/bin/firefox symlink. I didn't have it create the symlink because some people might want to have both the packaged firefox and the tarball version installed at the same time. I didn't think people would think to kindly of me if I my installer clobbered the symlink owned by the firefox/iceweasel package.

Icedove (or the network.protocol-handler lines) might expect the symlink to there.

If you want to create the /usr/bin/firefox symlink you can do so with the following command:
Code:
su -c 'ln -s /opt/firefox/firefox /usr/bin/firefox'
{I would only create the symlink if you're using just the tarball version of firefox}


Thu Sep 29, 2011 5:34 pm

kmathern thanked by: Siles
Profile
MEPIS Rules!
MEPIS Rules!
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 2:26 am
Posts: 218
Location: Near Disneyland California
Has thanked: 44 times
Have thanks: 14 times
Post # 285240
Post Re: Icedove links not working in FF7
Thanks the symlink worked. I was using the CR version of ff6.02 but for some reason had a symlint to irt.

Siles

_________________
Siles
Registered Mepis User 505527
MiniHal registered 416462
Asus eeepc 1000h - 2gb memory 240gb HD
M12 KDE 4.8.4


Thu Sep 29, 2011 9:47 pm
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 7 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Protected by Anti-Spam ACP Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by STSoftware for PTF.