MEPIS Community Forum

A Linux operating system based on Debian Stable
View unanswered posts | View unsolved topics | View active topics |



Reply to topic  [ 37 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
looking to collect info on fstab corruption 
Author Message
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
User avatar

Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2007 11:53 am
Posts: 2803
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Has thanked: 879 times
Have thanks: 690 times
Post # 288559
Post Re: looking to collect info on fstab corruption
appealsman, is the "sdc1" in the corrupted fstab a typo for "sdb1"?
Henry


Tue Nov 15, 2011 3:07 pm
Profile
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 16, 2009 3:59 pm
Posts: 2902
Has thanked: 419 times
Have thanks: 446 times
Post # 288560
Post Re: looking to collect info on fstab corruption
Jerry3904 wrote:
I thought that some of the people who had problems stated that did not have Dropbox installed. Maybe that's wrong.

That's my understanding too.

I've only seen the problem once, immediately after a kernel upgrade. I've never had dropbox.

_________________
Gigabyte 990FXA-UD3, AMD FX-6100 hex-core, 3.3GHz, Radeon HD6570
Gigabyte A55M-DS2, AMD A4-3400 dual-core APU (llano), 2.7 GHz, Radeon HD graphics
IBM ThinkPad T43, Intel Pentium M, 1.73GHz, Intel chipset


Tue Nov 15, 2011 3:09 pm
Profile
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 12, 2007 1:45 pm
Posts: 5707
Location: Penn's Woods
Has thanked: 821 times
Have thanks: 671 times
Post # 288561
Post Re: looking to collect info on fstab corruption
m_pav wrote:
Dropbox has been implicated in a number of locations as being the culprit that wreaks havoc on fstab for running systems.

google "dropbox fstab" without the quotes and you will see how google is responsible for including code that modifies fstab. There appears to be a bug that manifests during an upgrade via the package management system. Google claims dropbox will modify fstab if told to do so, but nowhere in the installation process have I ever seen the question.
viewtopic.php?f=38&t=31145&start=10&hilit=dropbox

If we can zero in on this, then it essentially becomes a moot point because the issue is outside of Mepis.

Mike P

Although dropbox could be one cause of the corruption, it cannot be the *only* one. When I was testing SM 11 in VirtualBox, I added a line above the #Dynamic line that automounted a shared folder on boot-up. That line would disappear on a regular basis, and I had to keep adding it back to fstab. There were no packages installed on that VM except those that came preinstalled on the Live DVD, so if a rogue package is causing this, then it must be one of the packages that came preinstalled on SM 11 (32-bit).

_________________
MX-14; 3.12-0.bpo.1-686-pae kernel using 4GB RAM
2.4GHz AMD Athlon 4600+
NVidia GeForce 6150 LE; 304.121 Display Driver


Tue Nov 15, 2011 3:22 pm
Profile
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice

Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2008 4:50 pm
Posts: 57
Has thanked: 0 time
Have thanks: 10 times
Post # 288563
Post Re: looking to collect info on fstab corruption
Jerry3904 wrote:
I thought that some of the people who had problems stated that did not have Dropbox installed. Maybe that's wrong.


That's right. I don't have dropbox installed.


Tue Nov 15, 2011 4:15 pm
Profile
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 06, 2009 6:06 am
Posts: 1486
Location: Bristol, UK
Has thanked: 426 times
Have thanks: 321 times
Post # 288569
Post Re: looking to collect info on fstab corruption
m_pav wrote:
Dropbox has been implicated in a number of locations as being the culprit that wreaks havoc on fstab for running systems.

google "dropbox fstab" without the quotes and you will see how google is responsible for including code that modifies fstab. There appears to be a bug that manifests during an upgrade via the package management system. Google claims dropbox will modify fstab if told to do so, but nowhere in the installation process have I ever seen the question.
viewtopic.php?f=38&t=31145&start=10&hilit=dropbox

If we can zero in on this, then it essentially becomes a moot point because the issue is outside of Mepis.

Mike P

I think we can discount the Dropbox problem. I've checked exhaustively on 6 separate installations on 3 computers, wiping and reinstalling Dropbox to test every option.

Dropbox is indeed badly behaved and will corrupt fstab, but only if you provide the root password. The bad behaviour is that the prompt for the password gives no indication that fstab will be modified, and as far as I can see there is no need for Dropbox to do this. The prompt has the 'enable extended file attributes' ticked and then asks for the root password. If you untick it, the root password is not required and the fstab is not touched.

BTW, I haven't had any problem with synching, transferring or using any type of file without extended attributes enabled.

The Dropbox problem is something entirely outside Mepis.

Phil

_________________

AsRock FM2A88X-ITX+, A8-6500, 8GB, 120GB Samsung SSD, 1TB HDD, MX-14.
Asus M4A88TD-V EVO/USB3, Phenom II X2 550 BE (now X3), 8GB.
120GB Corsair SSD, 500+250GB HDD, MX-14, Mepis 11.9.92-64.
Acer Aspire One 150, Atom N270, 120GB HDD, MX-14 / WinXP


Tue Nov 15, 2011 5:33 pm
Profile
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice

Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2008 4:50 pm
Posts: 57
Has thanked: 0 time
Have thanks: 10 times
Post # 288571
Post Re: looking to collect info on fstab corruption
Utopia wrote:
appealsman, is the "sdc1" in the corrupted fstab a typo for "sdb1"?
Henry


It's copy-and-paste from a borked fstab, so it's maybe a system typo, but it's not a wetware problem on my end.


Tue Nov 15, 2011 7:46 pm

appealsman thanked by: Utopia
Profile
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice

Joined: Mon Jun 13, 2011 5:14 pm
Posts: 14
Has thanked: 10 times
Have thanks: 4 times
Post # 288572
Post Re: looking to collect info on fstab corruption
I had problem with fstab after upgrade to kde 4.6 from test repo ( not kde ), but I don`t know if it`s relevant because we talk about that in another post and it affected only NTFS partitions. Do you want to put it again?


Tue Nov 15, 2011 8:13 pm
Profile
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 6:13 am
Posts: 10213
Location: Geneva NY
Has thanked: 2958 times
Have thanks: 1895 times
Post # 288576
Post Re: looking to collect info on fstab corruption
Thanks, but probably not ATM.

(We may be back...)

_________________
Production: 32 bit, 3.14-0.bpo.1-686-pae. MX-14.2, AMD FX-4130 Quad-Core, GeForce GT 630/PCIe/SSE2, 8 GB DDR3, / and /home on Kingston SSD 120 GB, data on WesternDigital 1TB, Dell SP2309W monitor.


Tue Nov 15, 2011 8:40 pm
Profile
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
User avatar

Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2007 11:53 am
Posts: 2803
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Has thanked: 879 times
Have thanks: 690 times
Post # 288578
Post Re: looking to collect info on fstab corruption
If I read buildstab correctly, it's supposed to wipe the static entries clean when it finds errors. And add the the newly identified partitions to the dynamic part.
In appealsmans case sdb1 has suddenly been identified as sdc1. And buildstab does the right thing, cleans static and adds everything to the bottom.
As sdc1 doesn't exist, the install isn't working.
udev must be the culprit in this case.
As I figured it out in the middle of the night instead of sleeping, you have to excuse me if I'm completely wrong.
Goodnight.
Henry


Tue Nov 15, 2011 8:51 pm

Utopia thanked by: lucky9
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 22, 2008 2:16 pm
Posts: 91
Location: Lillian, Alabama
Has thanked: 6 times
Have thanks: 4 times
Post # 288804
Post Re: looking to collect info on fstab corruption
Did not know I had a fstab problem until my email (thunderbird) lost all mail and folders this morning (11-18-2011). I found I could only recover by mounting sda6, which contains the saved emails.

I have upgraded each time the repositories are changed and the most recent (as I recall) was the cr repo for thunderbird 8.0

Code:
 
[code]]
# Dynamic entries below
/dev/sda1 /mnt/sda1 ntfs-3g noauto,users,noexec,uid=1000,gid=users,dmask=002,fmask=113,relatime 0 0
/dev/sda5 /mnt/sda5 ext3 noauto,users,exec,relatime 0 0
/dev/sda6 /mnt/sda6 ntfs-3g noauto,users,noexec,uid=1000,gid=users,dmask=002,fmask=113,relatime 0 0
/dev/sda7 /mnt/sda7 ext3 noauto,users,exec,relatime 0 0
/dev/sda8 swap swap sw,pri=1 0 0
/dev/sda9 /mnt/sda9 ntfs-3g noauto,users,noexec,uid=1000,gid=users,dmask=002,fmask=113,relatime 0 0
/dev/sda10 /mnt/sda10 ext3 noauto,users,exec,relatime 0 0
/dev/cdrom7 /media/cdrom7 udf,iso9660 noauto,users,exec,ro 0 0
/dev/sr0 /media/cdrom7 udf,iso9660 noauto,users,exec,ro 0 0
[/code]

[/code]

My static entries are gone, gone, gone....please point me to how to correct...


Fri Nov 18, 2011 9:49 pm
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 37 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Protected by Anti-Spam ACP Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by STSoftware for PTF.