looking to collect info on fstab corruption

Help for Mepis 11
Message
Author
User avatar
Utopia
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 3604
Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2007 11:53 am

Re: looking to collect info on fstab corruption

#21 Postby Utopia » Tue Nov 15, 2011 3:07 pm

appealsman, is the "sdc1" in the corrupted fstab a typo for "sdb1"?
Henry

User avatar
DBeckett
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 3068
Joined: Sat May 16, 2009 3:59 pm

Re: looking to collect info on fstab corruption

#22 Postby DBeckett » Tue Nov 15, 2011 3:09 pm

Jerry3904 wrote:I thought that some of the people who had problems stated that did not have Dropbox installed. Maybe that's wrong.

That's my understanding too.

I've only seen the problem once, immediately after a kernel upgrade. I've never had dropbox.
Gigabyte 990FXA-UD3, AMD FX-6100 hex-core, 3.3GHz, 8G, Radeon HD6570

User avatar
joany
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 6120
Joined: Mon Feb 12, 2007 1:45 pm

Re: looking to collect info on fstab corruption

#23 Postby joany » Tue Nov 15, 2011 3:22 pm

m_pav wrote:Dropbox has been implicated in a number of locations as being the culprit that wreaks havoc on fstab for running systems.

google "dropbox fstab" without the quotes and you will see how google is responsible for including code that modifies fstab. There appears to be a bug that manifests during an upgrade via the package management system. Google claims dropbox will modify fstab if told to do so, but nowhere in the installation process have I ever seen the question.
viewtopic.php?f=38&t=31145&start=10&hilit=dropbox

If we can zero in on this, then it essentially becomes a moot point because the issue is outside of Mepis.

Mike P

Although dropbox could be one cause of the corruption, it cannot be the *only* one. When I was testing SM 11 in VirtualBox, I added a line above the #Dynamic line that automounted a shared folder on boot-up. That line would disappear on a regular basis, and I had to keep adding it back to fstab. There were no packages installed on that VM except those that came preinstalled on the Live DVD, so if a rogue package is causing this, then it must be one of the packages that came preinstalled on SM 11 (32-bit).
MX-14; 3.12-0.bpo.1-686-pae kernel using 4GB RAM
2.4GHz AMD Athlon 4600+
NVidia GeForce 6150 LE; 304.121 Display Driver
You didn't slow down because you're old; you're old because you slowed down.

User avatar
appealsman
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice
Posts: 58
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2008 4:50 pm

Re: looking to collect info on fstab corruption

#24 Postby appealsman » Tue Nov 15, 2011 4:15 pm

Jerry3904 wrote:I thought that some of the people who had problems stated that did not have Dropbox installed. Maybe that's wrong.


That's right. I don't have dropbox installed.

User avatar
Gaer Boy
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
Posts: 1963
Age: 80
Joined: Sat Jun 06, 2009 6:06 am

Re: looking to collect info on fstab corruption

#25 Postby Gaer Boy » Tue Nov 15, 2011 5:33 pm

m_pav wrote:Dropbox has been implicated in a number of locations as being the culprit that wreaks havoc on fstab for running systems.

google "dropbox fstab" without the quotes and you will see how google is responsible for including code that modifies fstab. There appears to be a bug that manifests during an upgrade via the package management system. Google claims dropbox will modify fstab if told to do so, but nowhere in the installation process have I ever seen the question.
viewtopic.php?f=38&t=31145&start=10&hilit=dropbox

If we can zero in on this, then it essentially becomes a moot point because the issue is outside of Mepis.

Mike P

I think we can discount the Dropbox problem. I've checked exhaustively on 6 separate installations on 3 computers, wiping and reinstalling Dropbox to test every option.

Dropbox is indeed badly behaved and will corrupt fstab, but only if you provide the root password. The bad behaviour is that the prompt for the password gives no indication that fstab will be modified, and as far as I can see there is no need for Dropbox to do this. The prompt has the 'enable extended file attributes' ticked and then asks for the root password. If you untick it, the root password is not required and the fstab is not touched.

BTW, I haven't had any problem with synching, transferring or using any type of file without extended attributes enabled.

The Dropbox problem is something entirely outside Mepis.

Phil

AsRock FM2A88X-ITX+, A8-6500, 8GB, 120GB Samsung SSD (GPT), 1TB HDD (MBR), MX-15, MX-14.4
Acer Aspire One 150, Atom N270, 120GB HDD, MX-14.3

User avatar
appealsman
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice
Posts: 58
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2008 4:50 pm

Re: looking to collect info on fstab corruption

#26 Postby appealsman » Tue Nov 15, 2011 7:46 pm

Utopia wrote:appealsman, is the "sdc1" in the corrupted fstab a typo for "sdb1"?
Henry


It's copy-and-paste from a borked fstab, so it's maybe a system typo, but it's not a wetware problem on my end.

zega
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Jun 13, 2011 5:14 pm

Re: looking to collect info on fstab corruption

#27 Postby zega » Tue Nov 15, 2011 8:13 pm

I had problem with fstab after upgrade to kde 4.6 from test repo ( not kde ), but I don`t know if it`s relevant because we talk about that in another post and it affected only NTFS partitions. Do you want to put it again?

User avatar
Jerry3904
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 15227
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 6:13 am

Re: looking to collect info on fstab corruption

#28 Postby Jerry3904 » Tue Nov 15, 2011 8:40 pm

Thanks, but probably not ATM.

(We may be back...)
Production: 4.2.0-0.bpo.1-amd64, MX-15 RC1, AMD FX-4130 Quad-Core, GeForce GT 630/PCIe/SSE2, 8 GB, Kingston SSD 120 GB and WesternDigital 1TB
Testing: AAO 722: 3.16-0-4-686-pae. MX-15, AMD C-60 APU, 4 GB

User avatar
Utopia
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 3604
Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2007 11:53 am

Re: looking to collect info on fstab corruption

#29 Postby Utopia » Tue Nov 15, 2011 8:51 pm

If I read buildstab correctly, it's supposed to wipe the static entries clean when it finds errors. And add the the newly identified partitions to the dynamic part.
In appealsmans case sdb1 has suddenly been identified as sdc1. And buildstab does the right thing, cleans static and adds everything to the bottom.
As sdc1 doesn't exist, the install isn't working.
udev must be the culprit in this case.
As I figured it out in the middle of the night instead of sleeping, you have to excuse me if I'm completely wrong.
Goodnight.
Henry

User avatar
rockets
Posts: 91
Joined: Tue Jan 22, 2008 2:16 pm

Re: looking to collect info on fstab corruption

#30 Postby rockets » Fri Nov 18, 2011 9:49 pm

Did not know I had a fstab problem until my email (thunderbird) lost all mail and folders this morning (11-18-2011). I found I could only recover by mounting sda6, which contains the saved emails.

I have upgraded each time the repositories are changed and the most recent (as I recall) was the cr repo for thunderbird 8.0

Code: Select all

 
[code]]
# Dynamic entries below
/dev/sda1 /mnt/sda1 ntfs-3g noauto,users,noexec,uid=1000,gid=users,dmask=002,fmask=113,relatime 0 0
/dev/sda5 /mnt/sda5 ext3 noauto,users,exec,relatime 0 0
/dev/sda6 /mnt/sda6 ntfs-3g noauto,users,noexec,uid=1000,gid=users,dmask=002,fmask=113,relatime 0 0
/dev/sda7 /mnt/sda7 ext3 noauto,users,exec,relatime 0 0
/dev/sda8 swap swap sw,pri=1 0 0
/dev/sda9 /mnt/sda9 ntfs-3g noauto,users,noexec,uid=1000,gid=users,dmask=002,fmask=113,relatime 0 0
/dev/sda10 /mnt/sda10 ext3 noauto,users,exec,relatime 0 0
/dev/cdrom7 /media/cdrom7 udf,iso9660 noauto,users,exec,ro 0 0
/dev/sr0 /media/cdrom7 udf,iso9660 noauto,users,exec,ro 0 0
[/code]

[/code]

My static entries are gone, gone, gone....please point me to how to correct...


Return to “Mepis 11”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest