MEPIS Community Forum

A Linux operating system based on Debian Stable
View unanswered posts | View unsolved topics | View active topics |



Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Just Because . .. 
Author Message
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 19, 2007 9:23 am
Posts: 333
Location: Perth AU
Has thanked: 7 times
Have thanks: 24 times
Post # 292637
Post Just Because . ..
I could :number1:

I just saw a < compaq> notebook in a post xmas sale catalogue for $338 :happy:
- even comes with a HP multi function printer :p

-> at this price - I could just 'blow away' any rubbish that was on the hdd
-> and install some 'nix O/Ss !!.

- has 2Gb ram & a 320Gb hdd - so half reasonable spec's too.


any one else have < post xmas> similar thoughts?.


Thu Jan 05, 2012 10:43 am
Profile
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2007 6:19 pm
Posts: 363
Location: Hollister, MO, USA
Has thanked: 6 times
Have thanks: 41 times
Post # 292642
Post Re: Just Because . ..
I bought a Compaq laptop last April for just under $300 at Walmart. The specs sound very much like yours. I considered deleting the software on it (Win 7) and replacing it with Mepis 11.0 but decided not to when the live disk of Mepis had trouble making the wireless work (I never really investigated why); I bought the machine to be able to use it on a motel (or McDonalds, etc) WiFi system while we were evacuated from a flood. I didn't want to take the chance that I wouldn't have a WiFi laptop if I had to use it again - and I did when an infection put me in the hospital/nursing home for two months. I use DropBox to transfer data files between the laptop and my home system. That ties the two different OS's together very nicely. I have loaded LibreOffice, Firefox, Thunderbird. and Pidgin (and AVG free to take care of the viruses that Windows gets) on it so it has about the same software I use most often in Mepis.

_________________
MAIN: AMD Athlon II 270 64-bit dual core; 3400mhz; 4 gig RAM; nVidia; 1600x900; 1 Hard disk, 459gb
BACK(up): AMD Athlon II 250 64-bit dual core; 3000mhz; 4 gig RAM; nVldla; 1600x900; 1 Hard disk, 466gb
Wireless network


Thu Jan 05, 2012 11:45 am
Profile YIM
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 11, 2006 10:42 pm
Posts: 4340
Has thanked: 115 times
Have thanks: 870 times
Post # 292649
Post Re: Just Because . ..
@Burt

Any reason not to set up a dual boot install?

_________________
Desktop: Custom build Asus/AMD/nVidia -- MEPIS 11
Netbook: Fujitsu Lifebook Pentium M -- MX-14
Laptop: Acer Aspire 5250 AMD Dual -- SolydK 64


Thu Jan 05, 2012 12:49 pm
Profile
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 13, 2006 7:21 am
Posts: 1843
Location: albuquerque
Has thanked: 130 times
Have thanks: 158 times
Post # 292651
Post Re: Just Because . ..
Yeah, I picked up a Compaq Presario CQ56-219WM notebook from Walmart some months back. 2 GB RAM. 250 GB hard drive. I think it was $298 or something like that. That model is no longer being sold at Walmart

I put Mepis 11 and Ubuntu 11.04 on it. It's been fine but I don't know about the wireless because I don't use it. I've read about Linux users having trouble with wireless with this line of notebooks, though.

I mainly use my pc at home, and use a notebook as a spare computer, so the Compaq doesn't actually get much use. But it seems to have been a good deal. I booted into Windows once to have a look around, then one more time to copy some stuff, then wiped Windows out and installed Linux, and that was it.


Thu Jan 05, 2012 12:53 pm
Profile
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 11, 2006 10:42 pm
Posts: 4340
Has thanked: 115 times
Have thanks: 870 times
Post # 292653
Post Re: Just Because . ..
malspa wrote:
I put Mepis 11 and Ubuntu 11.04 on it. It's been fine but I don't know about the wireless because I don't use it. I've read about Linux users having trouble with wireless with this line of notebooks, though.


I've yet to run into a situation where I couldn't get wireless working using the XP drivers and ndiswrapper, per the CLI instructions found under "Using Ndiswrapper" in the Wiki. The trick is getting the raw XP driver, as opposed to the installer .exe that is usually offered from the manufacturer. Sometimes you can get at it using cabextract on the installer, sometimes you have to go on a hunt.

_________________
Desktop: Custom build Asus/AMD/nVidia -- MEPIS 11
Netbook: Fujitsu Lifebook Pentium M -- MX-14
Laptop: Acer Aspire 5250 AMD Dual -- SolydK 64


Thu Jan 05, 2012 12:58 pm
Profile
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2007 6:19 pm
Posts: 363
Location: Hollister, MO, USA
Has thanked: 6 times
Have thanks: 41 times
Post # 292692
Post Re: Just Because . ..
uncle mark wrote:
@Burt

Any reason not to set up a dual boot install?
Yes, Compaq used all 4 primary partitions and I decided I didn't want to mess with them by using a logical partition. It is primarily an emergency system to me, and I don't want to mess it up. I do enough of that on my home systems!

_________________
MAIN: AMD Athlon II 270 64-bit dual core; 3400mhz; 4 gig RAM; nVidia; 1600x900; 1 Hard disk, 459gb
BACK(up): AMD Athlon II 250 64-bit dual core; 3000mhz; 4 gig RAM; nVldla; 1600x900; 1 Hard disk, 466gb
Wireless network


Thu Jan 05, 2012 5:15 pm
Profile YIM
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 11, 2006 10:42 pm
Posts: 4340
Has thanked: 115 times
Have thanks: 870 times
Post # 292698
Post Re: Just Because . ..
BurtHulland wrote:
uncle mark wrote:
@Burt

Any reason not to set up a dual boot install?
Yes, Compaq used all 4 primary partitions and I decided I didn't want to mess with them by using a logical partition. It is primarily an emergency system to me, and I don't want to mess it up. I do enough of that on my home systems!


Gotta love it. The OEMs that to that should be taken out and shot. There is absolutely no excuse (or need) for that. I can't decide whether it's due to malice (trying to prevent dual boot setups) or stupidity.

_________________
Desktop: Custom build Asus/AMD/nVidia -- MEPIS 11
Netbook: Fujitsu Lifebook Pentium M -- MX-14
Laptop: Acer Aspire 5250 AMD Dual -- SolydK 64


Thu Jan 05, 2012 5:49 pm
Profile
Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 2:17 pm
Posts: 10606
Location: Rochester NY
Has thanked: 816 times
Have thanks: 1401 times
Post # 292699
Post Re: Just Because . ..
I gave up on Compaq years ago. They always seemed to have weird setups and hardware.

_________________
Forum Rules
Guide - How to Ask for Help
Link to Wiki
Rich

Acer Laptop V5-572G: Intel i5, 12 GIG mem, nVidia GT720M/Intel integrated graphics
Mx-14 Symbiosis
Kubuntu 13.10, KDE 4.11.2


Thu Jan 05, 2012 5:52 pm
Profile
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 13, 2006 7:21 am
Posts: 1843
Location: albuquerque
Has thanked: 130 times
Have thanks: 158 times
Post # 292711
Post Re: Just Because . ..
BurtHulland wrote:
Compaq used all 4 primary partitions


Yes, that's how mine came, too. From my notes:

sda1: ntfs, 199.00 MiB (“SYSTEM”)
sda2: ntfs, 213.72 GiB (no label)
sda3: ntfs, 18.86 GiB (“RECOVERY”)
sda4: fat32, 103.18 MiB (“HP_TOOLS”)

I think I got that info from kde-partition-manager. Not sure what you'd have to do with that if you wanted to set up a Windows-Linux dual-boot (in my case, I simply deleted all four partitions -- I just don't wanna be bothered with Windows here).

Finally went back and found out how much this notebook cost me. $278 bucks. Not bad for what I'm using it for.


Thu Jan 05, 2012 7:24 pm
Profile
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 11, 2006 10:42 pm
Posts: 4340
Has thanked: 115 times
Have thanks: 870 times
Post # 292714
Post Re: Just Because . ..
malspa wrote:
BurtHulland wrote:
Compaq used all 4 primary partitions


Yes, that's how mine came, too. From my notes:

sda1: ntfs, 199.00 MiB (“SYSTEM”)
sda2: ntfs, 213.72 GiB (no label)
sda3: ntfs, 18.86 GiB (“RECOVERY”)
sda4: fat32, 103.18 MiB (“HP_TOOLS”)

I think I got that info from kde-partition-manager. Not sure what you'd have to do with that if you wanted to set up a Windows-Linux dual-boot (in my case, I simply deleted all four partitions -- I just don't wanna be bothered with Windows here).

Finally went back and found out how much this notebook cost me. $278 bucks. Not bad for what I'm using it for.


sda1 is most likely a boot partition, and sda4 should just be all the drivers and crapware. That last one is what I'd look to blow out. Then shrink sda2, creating space for an extended between it and sda3.

_________________
Desktop: Custom build Asus/AMD/nVidia -- MEPIS 11
Netbook: Fujitsu Lifebook Pentium M -- MX-14
Laptop: Acer Aspire 5250 AMD Dual -- SolydK 64


Thu Jan 05, 2012 7:36 pm
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 16 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Protected by Anti-Spam ACP Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by STSoftware for PTF.