Dolphin as su question...

Help for Mepis 11 modified with a non-Mepis kernel, upgraded KDE. or base repositories other than Debian squeeze
Message
Author
User avatar
JBoman
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
Posts: 1477
Age: 58
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 4:30 pm

Dolphin as su question...

#1 Postby JBoman » Thu Jan 05, 2012 10:54 pm

This may have been explained before but if so I cannot find it. I currently have 3 installs of M-11. I have M-11 upgraded to kernel 3.1pae w/kde @4.7.2 that works very nice on a toshiba tecra laptop... has no Dolphin as su., next I have my signature box which has M-11 on 2 partitions... one is M-11 with kernel 3.1pae & kde 4.7.4 ...work nice has no Dolphin as su either., but third is my main install in my sig that is M-11 with very mixed repos including Ubuntu Oneric and somehow it has managed to retain a working Dolphin as su. I very much like having Dolphin as su available as it has saved my tail many times when my lack of konsole saavy could not. I have tried to figure out where the package is available or where it originally came from without much success. I see some stuff by Stevo in the community repos but nothing that specifically says Dolphin as su. Can someone enlighten me on Dolphin as su?; on my working install I have 2 "file cabinet" icons for Dolphin... a blue icon is Dolphin and a red icon is Dolphin as su. Thanks, Jerry :snail:
http://patentabsurdity.com/
AMD 64x2 2.6GHz 4GB ram MX-15 regular updates
"beware a frequent flirt with potential disaster"

User avatar
lucky9
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 12345
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 5:54 am

Re: Dolphin as su question...

#2 Postby lucky9 » Thu Jan 05, 2012 10:59 pm

Next time you do an upgrade from a base install keep your configs. Don't use the new ones.
Yes, even I am dishonest. Not in many ways, but in some. Forty-one, I think it is.
--Mark Twain

User avatar
kmathern
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 8989
Age: 58
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 2:26 pm

Re: Dolphin as su question...

#3 Postby kmathern » Thu Jan 05, 2012 11:16 pm

Here's Warren's two 'as su' right-click servicemenus .desktop files.

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/18456966/editsu.desktop
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/18456966/konsoleheresu.desktop

{the editsu file has the change mentioned here: viewtopic.php?p=268057#p268057}

Put them in the /usr/share/kde4/services/ServiceMenus/ folder.
Last edited by kmathern on Thu Jan 05, 2012 11:17 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
DBeckett
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 3067
Joined: Sat May 16, 2009 3:59 pm

Re: Dolphin as su question...

#4 Postby DBeckett » Thu Jan 05, 2012 11:16 pm

JBoman wrote:Can someone enlighten me on Dolphin as su?; on my working install I have 2 "file cabinet" icons for Dolphin... a blue icon is Dolphin and a red icon is Dolphin as su. Thanks, Jerry :snail:

Are you asking how to recreate it?

  • Start the Menu Editor and create a new item. Call it "Dolphin as su."
  • Description is "File Manager as su."
  • The command should be dolphin %i -caption "%c" %u
  • On the advanced tab, check "Run as different user."
  • Click the icon and set it to the red file cabinet.

[Edit]

Or do what kmathern said. :smile:
Gigabyte 990FXA-UD3, AMD FX-6100 hex-core, 3.3GHz, 8G, Radeon HD6570

User avatar
Danum
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
Posts: 2688
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2007 5:49 pm

Re: Dolphin as su question...

#5 Postby Danum » Thu Jan 05, 2012 11:24 pm

DBeckett wrote:
JBoman wrote:Can someone enlighten me on Dolphin as su?; on my working install I have 2 "file cabinet" icons for Dolphin... a blue icon is Dolphin and a red icon is Dolphin as su. Thanks, Jerry :snail:

Are you asking how to recreate it?

  • Start the Menu Editor and create a new item. Call it "Dolphin as su."
  • Description is "File Manager as su."
  • The command should be dolphin %i -caption "%c" %u
  • On the advanced tab, check "Run as different user."
  • Click the icon and set it to the red file cabinet.

[Edit]

:

you create the new item in System
Call it Dolphin as root

and the command is

Code: Select all

kdesu dolphin %i -caption "%c" %u

choose an icon, save and that is it. no adding run as a different user or anything else
saying all that what is wrong with using the root menu.
Desktop.
Zalman Z11 Plus ATX PC Tower, AMD FX 8350 Black Edition Vishera, 8 Core 4.4 GHz, Kingston HyperX FURY Red 16GB, Nvidia GT740 Graphics, Pioneer BDR-209EBK Writer, 2 x Seagate 1TB SSHD SATA Hybrid Hard Drives. ASUS VS278Q 27 inch HD Monitor

User avatar
DBeckett
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 3067
Joined: Sat May 16, 2009 3:59 pm

Re: Dolphin as su question...

#6 Postby DBeckett » Thu Jan 05, 2012 11:30 pm

I was just quoting what is on my Menu.
Gigabyte 990FXA-UD3, AMD FX-6100 hex-core, 3.3GHz, 8G, Radeon HD6570

User avatar
kmathern
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 8989
Age: 58
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 2:26 pm

Re: Dolphin as su question...

#7 Postby kmathern » Thu Jan 05, 2012 11:35 pm

Danum wrote:.. saying all that what is wrong with using the root menu.

I was wondering about that myself, though I recall in one of his threads that he hadn't actually installed sram.

User avatar
Danum
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
Posts: 2688
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2007 5:49 pm

Re: Dolphin as su question...

#8 Postby Danum » Thu Jan 05, 2012 11:45 pm

kmathern wrote:
Danum wrote:.. saying all that what is wrong with using the root menu.

I was wondering about that myself, though I recall in one of his threads that he hadn't actually installed sram.

But I think he did afterwards,
One thing that bugs me is Dolphin as su, which if you think about it is an impossibility, you use su to get to root.
so why not put Dolphin as root, because that is what you are waning to do, use Dolphin as the root user.
Desktop.
Zalman Z11 Plus ATX PC Tower, AMD FX 8350 Black Edition Vishera, 8 Core 4.4 GHz, Kingston HyperX FURY Red 16GB, Nvidia GT740 Graphics, Pioneer BDR-209EBK Writer, 2 x Seagate 1TB SSHD SATA Hybrid Hard Drives. ASUS VS278Q 27 inch HD Monitor

User avatar
JBoman
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
Posts: 1477
Age: 58
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 4:30 pm

Re: Dolphin as su question...

#9 Postby JBoman » Fri Jan 06, 2012 1:03 am

Danum wrote:
kmathern wrote:
Danum wrote:.. saying all that what is wrong with using the root menu.

I was wondering about that myself, though I recall in one of his threads that he hadn't actually installed sram.


correct; in that thread I had changed the file mngr to Dolphin but had not done step 1 which was the install of sram. I did complete the install and have installed in all 3 Mepis installs. I'm still getting used to it and like it for most things. I think I just grew accustomed to Dolpin as root and feel comfortable with it.

But I think he did afterwards,
One thing that bugs me is Dolphin as su, which if you think about it is an impossibility, you use su to get to root.
so why not put Dolphin as root, because that is what you are waning to do, use Dolphin as the root user.


Agree that Dolphin as root is more accurate, it just lists as su in the system menu so thats what I called it.

Anyway, thanks for the "how to make it happen". I'll add it to my other 2 installs. Thanks again, Jerry :turtle:
http://patentabsurdity.com/
AMD 64x2 2.6GHz 4GB ram MX-15 regular updates
"beware a frequent flirt with potential disaster"

User avatar
Stevo
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 11147
Age: 57
Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2006 8:07 pm

Re: Dolphin as su question...

#10 Postby Stevo » Fri Jan 06, 2012 1:46 am

kde-servicemenu-rootactions in the CR is another way to get the option to open Dolphin as root.
The optimist proclaims that we live in the best of all possible worlds, and the pessimist fears this is true.

James Branch Cabell


Return to “Mepis 11 Modified”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests