how to add grub 2 distros to grub legacy menu.lst

Here is where users who have been using MEPIS awhile and know the basics of linux and MEPIS can ask questions.
Message
Author
User avatar
jozien
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 170
Age: 2015
Joined: Sun Aug 06, 2006 4:49 pm

how to add grub 2 distros to grub legacy menu.lst

#1 Postby jozien » Mon Jan 09, 2012 1:14 pm

Mepis 11 is my default linux and it uses grub legacy
Grub legacy uses menu.lst to show all distros you can boot and it is in the MBR.
When I install grub 2 distros, linux mint, ubuntu and debian,
they will overwrite the MBR. I can install grub 2 in the
partition I install the grub 2 distros but can't boot them.
How can you add grub 2 distros to grub legacy menu.lst?
I don't use grub 2 to boot distros, too complex to use.

jozien

User avatar
lucky9
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 12219
Age: 70
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 5:54 am

Re: how to add grub 2 distros to grub legacy menu.lst

#2 Postby lucky9 » Mon Jan 09, 2012 1:24 pm

I chainload anything that doesn't get treated correctly by GRUB. See: http://www.mepis.org/docs/en/index.php? ... nload_GRUB
Yes, even I am dishonest. Not in many ways, but in some. Forty-one, I think it is.
--Mark Twain

User avatar
kmathern
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 8911
Age: 57
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 2:26 pm

Re: how to add grub 2 distros to grub legacy menu.lst

#3 Postby kmathern » Mon Jan 09, 2012 1:27 pm

I'm doing something like that. I have a boot partition using grub legacy that's installed to the mbr. I chainload to other partitions that have grub legacy or grub2 installed to their roots. Here's a few stanzas from my master menu.lst on my boot partition. The stanzas highlighted in green are for chainloading to grub2.
timeout 15
default 1
color cyan/blue white/blue
foreground ffffff
background 0639a1

gfxmenu /boot/grub/message

title sda8, chainloaded
rootnoverify (hd0,7)
chainloader +1
boot

title Chainload to sda8 with grub2 on it's root
kernel (hd0,7)/boot/grub/core.img


                  .
                  .
                  .

title sdb6 chainloaded
rootnoverify (hd1,5)
chainloader +1
boot

title Chainload to sdb6 with grub2 on it's root
kernel (hd1,5)/boot/grub/core.img


title sdb7 chainloaded
rootnoverify (hd1,6)
chainloader +1
boot

title Chainload to sdb7 with grub2 on it's root
kernel (hd1,6)/boot/grub/core.img


                  .
                  .
                  .

you might notice that I have dual entries for chainloading to either grub-legacy or grub2.

User avatar
malspa
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
Posts: 1914
Age: 55
Joined: Thu Jul 13, 2006 7:21 am

Re: how to add grub 2 distros to grub legacy menu.lst

#4 Postby malspa » Mon Jan 09, 2012 2:25 pm

Here's my approach. These are the entries in my Mepis 11 menu.lst for the other distros I boot here. SalineOS, Ubuntu Lucid, Debian Squeeze, and Fedora 16 are the grub2 distros.

Code: Select all

#Entry added by Steve 5-10-11
title   Mepis 8 at sda5
rootnoverify (hd0,4)
chainloader +1

#Entry added by Steve 5-10-11
title SalineOS at sdb1
root (hd1,0)
kernel /boot/grub/core.img
savedefault
boot

#Entry added by Steve 5-10-11
title Ubuntu 10.04 LTS (Lucid) at sdb5
root (hd1,4)
kernel /boot/grub/core.img
savedefault
boot

#Entry added by Steve 5-10-11
title Debian Squeeze at sdb7
root (hd1,6)
kernel /boot/grub/core.img
savedefault
boot

#Entry added by Steve 5-10-11
title PCLinuxOS at sdb9
rootnoverify (hd1,8)
chainloader +1

#Entry added by Steve 11-9-11
title Fedora 16 at sdb11
root (hd1,10)
kernel /grub2/core.img
savedefault
boot

#Entry edited by Steve 6-7-11
title Fedora 15 at sdb13
rootnoverify (hd1,12)
chainloader +1

User avatar
Danum
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
Posts: 2687
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2007 5:49 pm

Re: how to add grub 2 distros to grub legacy menu.lst

#5 Postby Danum » Mon Jan 09, 2012 2:51 pm

jozien wrote:I don't use grub 2 to boot distros, too complex to use.

jozien

I do use Grub2, and far from being complex, it does not get any easier,
I also run multiple disros, one simple command on my main system after installing or removing a distro.
as root

Code: Select all

update-grub

and that is it, job done
Desktop.
Zalman Z11 Plus ATX PC Tower, AMD FX 8350 Black Edition Vishera, 8 Core 4.4 GHz, Kingston HyperX FURY Red 16GB, Nvidia GT740 Graphics, Pioneer BDR-209EBK Writer, 2 x Seagate 1TB SSHD SATA Hybrid Hard Drives. ASUS VS278Q 27 inch HD Monitor

User avatar
DBeckett
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 3064
Joined: Sat May 16, 2009 3:59 pm

Re: how to add grub 2 distros to grub legacy menu.lst

#6 Postby DBeckett » Mon Jan 09, 2012 4:08 pm

I use Mepis 11's grub, and I've always booted to grub2 distros in the following way. The only difference is in the location of the vmlinuz and initrd links.

title MEPIS 11.0
root (hd0,4)
kernel /boot/vmlinuz root=/dev/sda5 quiet splash vga=789
initrd /boot/initrd.img
savedefault 1
boot

title Wheezy
root (hd0,6)
kernel /vmlinuz root=/dev/sda7 nomce vga=789 quiet splash nomodeset nouveau.modeset=0
initrd /initrd.img
savedefault 2
boot

-
-
-

title Squeeze
root (hd0,10)
kernel /vmlinuz root=/dev/sda11 nomce vga=789 quiet splash nomodeset nouveau.modeset=0
initrd /initrd.img
savedefault 4
boot
Gigabyte 990FXA-UD3, AMD FX-6100 hex-core, 3.3GHz, 8G, Radeon HD6570

User avatar
JimC
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
Posts: 1569
Age: 58
Joined: Tue Jul 25, 2006 12:47 pm

Re: how to add grub 2 distros to grub legacy menu.lst

#7 Postby JimC » Mon Jan 09, 2012 4:36 pm

I've always done it by installing all of the distros I want to use, including Mepis, then booting into a Mepis Live CD or DVD and using the Mepis System Assistant to reinstall GRUB in the MBR after letting other distros use their boot managers there. IOW, just let Mepis overwrite what's in the MBR by using the Mepis System Assistant to reinstall GRUB after finishing with installing another distro.

From my experience, GRUB usually does a pretty good job of recognizing other distros installed on my partitions and adds them to the /apt/boot/menu.lst used by Mepis when you use the Mepis System Assistant from a Live DVD or USB stick to reinstall GRUB in the MBR.

That way, I don't have to worry about other boot managers at all (I just let GRUB handle it).

User avatar
KrispyKritter
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 611
Age: 75
Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2006 8:09 pm

Re: how to add grub 2 distros to grub legacy menu.lst

#8 Postby KrispyKritter » Mon Jan 09, 2012 6:22 pm

I have used grub2 for over a year installed from my Ubuntu installation. I have Windows 7 which had to be installed first then Ubuntu got installed and allowed to write to the MBR. Then the other system (3 in number) got installed and their respective boots were written to their root directories. Then doing a update-grub from the Ubuntu installation would find these systems. Nothing could be easier.

I have just replaced the hard drive on this computer and gotten Windows 7 installed and Mepis 11 (KDE 4.6.5). The Mepis 11 has also been upgraded to Grub2 and this is stored to the MBR. The only gotch that you might find is remembering which system is the "control" system ie the system that has its grub installed in the MBR. That is the system you have to go to and run "update-grub" when you install another system.

Steve
I messed with the dragon and now I am ready for the ketchup!
The only stupid question is the one you already know the answer.

~Krispy Kritter~

Toshiba Satellite A215-S7427(AMD-64)
Windows7/M11(KDE4.6.5)/M11(RoadblockTRK2-32)'buntus13.1/MX14b2/Tanglu1.0


Return to “Regulars”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests