HPLIP Broken??

Questions about printers and scanners, hardware-related and/or software-related can be asked here, as well as posting of tutorials.
Message
Author
User avatar
MikeW
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice
Posts: 44
Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2010 10:51 am

Re: HPLIP Broken??

#11 Postby MikeW » Thu Aug 04, 2011 2:26 pm

OK thanks! I will do this as soon as I can but won't have time for the next day or two. I'll report back.

In the meantime I have played with VirtualBox running XP. Wow. It's a great product. Easy and intuitive and it works. Even with printing! And over the wireless network!!!!!

User avatar
MikeW
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice
Posts: 44
Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2010 10:51 am

Re: HPLIP Broken??

#12 Postby MikeW » Sat Aug 06, 2011 10:53 am

Did complete de-install of CUPS and HPLIP. Re-booted, renamed /.hplip and then did fresh install.

Same problem and not able to install as wireless.

Also not picking up scanner and fax!!!

Oh well I can work around this by printing/scanning/fax thru VirtualBox and XP.

Will wait for an HPLIP update and see if that fixes anything.

Thanks for all help and suggestions.

Mike

jackren
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice
Posts: 19
Age: 48
Joined: Mon May 23, 2011 7:01 am

Re: HPLIP Broken??

#13 Postby jackren » Wed Jan 25, 2012 9:37 am

MikeW wrote:Did complete de-install of CUPS and HPLIP. Re-booted, renamed /.hplip and then did fresh install.

Same problem and not able to install as wireless.

Also not picking up scanner and fax!!!

Oh well I can work around this by printing/scanning/fax thru VirtualBox and XP.

Will wait for an HPLIP update and see if that fixes anything.

Thanks for all help and suggestions.

Mike


Hi Mike,

I have same printer with lots of trouble to in mepis 11 64bits.

Did you menage to solve your printer problems?

gr,

Jack

jackren
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice
Posts: 19
Age: 48
Joined: Mon May 23, 2011 7:01 am

Re: HPLIP Broken??

#14 Postby jackren » Sun Jan 29, 2012 7:50 am

I found out that my printer (hp officejet 8500 pro wireless) needs hplip 3.11 to work , but 3.10 is installed in Mepis 11.
What is best way to install hplip 3.11 , upgrade mepis with debian unstable or install hplip from hp website?

User avatar
kmathern
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 9173
Age: 58
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 2:26 pm

Re: HPLIP Broken??

#15 Postby kmathern » Sun Jan 29, 2012 8:34 am

jackren wrote:I found out that my printer (hp officejet 8500 pro wireless) needs hplip 3.11 to work , but 3.10 is installed in Mepis 11.
What is best way to install hplip 3.11 , upgrade mepis with debian unstable or install hplip from hp website?


There's two 3.11.x versions of hplip available in the CR's. In the main CR version 3.11.7, and in the testrepo 3.11.10.

Enabling the CR repos and setting 'mepis' as the preferred distro should allow you to upgrade to either hplip 3.11.7 or 3.11.10.

jackren
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice
Posts: 19
Age: 48
Joined: Mon May 23, 2011 7:01 am

Re: HPLIP Broken??

#16 Postby jackren » Sun Jan 29, 2012 4:21 pm

kmathern wrote:
jackren wrote:I found out that my printer (hp officejet 8500 pro wireless) needs hplip 3.11 to work , but 3.10 is installed in Mepis 11.
What is best way to install hplip 3.11 , upgrade mepis with debian unstable or install hplip from hp website?


There's two 3.11.x versions of hplip available in the CR's. In the main CR version 3.11.7, and in the testrepo 3.11.10.

Enabling the CR repos and setting 'mepis' as the preferred distro should allow you to upgrade to either hplip 3.11.7 or 3.11.10.


Thanks for the advice, but how exactly should my sources.list look then?
( I used script from danum to upgrade kde to 4.6.5 with cr but that was only for kde I think)

User avatar
lucky9
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 12373
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 5:54 am

Re: HPLIP Broken??

#17 Postby lucky9 » Sun Jan 29, 2012 5:53 pm

Yes, even I am dishonest. Not in many ways, but in some. Forty-one, I think it is.
--Mark Twain


Return to “Print/Scan”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests