MX & MEPIS Community Forum

Linux operating systems based on Debian Stable
View unanswered posts | View unsolved topics | View active topics |



Reply to topic  [ 22 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Mythtv on M11? 
Author Message
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2007 6:29 pm
Posts: 1057
Location: UK
Has thanked: 828 times
Have thanks: 89 times
Post # 298640
Post Re: Mythtv on M11?
Thanks, GM.
Following kmathern's suggestion to change preferred distro got rid of the dependency issue and I am now stuck with synaptic telling me things which I don't understand and asking me questions I don't know how to answer!
Yes, I did the reloading after adding the multimedia repo'.


Sat Apr 14, 2012 7:56 pm
Profile
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 30, 2008 8:06 pm
Posts: 2952
Has thanked: 52 times
Have thanks: 376 times
Post # 298641
Post Re: Mythtv on M11?
questions, like?


Sat Apr 14, 2012 8:01 pm
Profile
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2007 6:29 pm
Posts: 1057
Location: UK
Has thanked: 828 times
Have thanks: 89 times
Post # 298642
Post Re: Mythtv on M11?
GoManutd wrote:
questions, like?

"On what host does the MySQL server reside: "


Sat Apr 14, 2012 8:07 pm
Profile
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 30, 2008 8:06 pm
Posts: 2952
Has thanked: 52 times
Have thanks: 376 times
Post # 298643
Post Re: Mythtv on M11?
most people don't have a dedicated server so mysql is often installed on the same machine as mythtv-backend - which is the localhost.

EDIT: make sure you use the actual IP address of the machine this is being installed on otherwise you'll run into issues when configuring mythtv and getting mythtv-backend and frontends to communicate with the database


Sat Apr 14, 2012 8:09 pm

GoManutd thanked by: GuiGuy
Profile
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2007 6:29 pm
Posts: 1057
Location: UK
Has thanked: 828 times
Have thanks: 89 times
Post # 298644
Post Re: Mythtv on M11?
Tried the answer "localhost".
Then when asked for the name of the MySQL administrator account I replied "root". Synaptic then said "Failed to connect to database: Access denied for user 'root'@'localhost' (using password: NO) at .........." followed by lots more that I don't understand and ending up with "Not all changes and updates succeeded. For further details of the failure, please expand the 'Details' panel below." ?? I see no such panel.

I am going to have to sleep on it now (it's 0145 here).

EDIT: just saw your edit - I will have another go tomorrow.
Gnite and thanks.


Sat Apr 14, 2012 8:34 pm
Profile
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2007 6:29 pm
Posts: 1057
Location: UK
Has thanked: 828 times
Have thanks: 89 times
Post # 298660
Post Re: Mythtv on M11?  [Solved]
Finally got mythtv installed.
Unfortunately it does not recognise my tv card :bawling:
So marking this topic solved.

Thanks for your help, guys.


Sun Apr 15, 2012 6:05 pm
Profile
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 30, 2008 8:06 pm
Posts: 2952
Has thanked: 52 times
Have thanks: 376 times
Post # 298661
Post Re: Mythtv on M11?
what kind of card is it?


Sun Apr 15, 2012 6:36 pm
Profile
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 6:13 am
Posts: 10557
Location: Geneva NY
Has thanked: 3133 times
Have thanks: 2001 times
Post # 298662
Post Re: Mythtv on M11?
GuiGuy wrote:
Finally got mythtv installed.
Unfortunately it does not recognise my tv card :bawling:
So marking this topic solved.

Thanks for your help, guys.
what answers did you put?

_________________
Production: 32 bit, 3.14-0.bpo.1-686-pae. MX-14.2, AMD FX-4130 Quad-Core, GeForce GT 630/PCIe/SSE2, 8 GB DDR3, / and /home on Kingston SSD 120 GB, data on WesternDigital 1TB, Dell SP2309W monitor.


Sun Apr 15, 2012 7:00 pm
Profile
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2007 6:29 pm
Posts: 1057
Location: UK
Has thanked: 828 times
Have thanks: 89 times
Post # 298663
Post Re: Mythtv on M11?
GoManutd wrote:
what kind of card is it?

It's a Pinnacle Dual Hybrid Pro 3010iX: uses Philips chips and plugs into a PCIe socket.

Jerry, I have struggled with this so many times my brain is hurting too much to remember exactly the successful sequence. Basically I followed the wiki instructions except I used Synaptic instead of aptitude, and before installing mythtv I changed the "preferred distro" in synaptic to "stable" as suggested by kmathern.


Sun Apr 15, 2012 7:49 pm

GuiGuy thanked by: Jerry3904
Profile
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 30, 2008 8:06 pm
Posts: 2952
Has thanked: 52 times
Have thanks: 376 times
Post # 298664
Post Re: Mythtv on M11?
it would appear that, according to this http://www.linuxtv.org/wiki/index.php/Pinnacle, your card isn't supported by linux


Sun Apr 15, 2012 8:12 pm

GoManutd thanked by: GuiGuy
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 22 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Protected by Anti-Spam ACP Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by STSoftware for PTF.