MEPIS Community Forum

A Linux operating system based on Debian Stable
View unanswered posts | View unsolved topics | View active topics |



Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
flashplayer - mozilla upgrade 
Author Message
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 5:54 am
Posts: 10789
Location: Tulsa, Oklahoma U.S.A.
Has thanked: 3569 times
Have thanks: 857 times
Post # 298822
Post Re: flashplayer - mozilla upgrade
I do not have the multimedia repository enabled and that command does work.

_________________
Yes, even I am dishonest. Not in many ways, but in some. Forty-one, I think it is.
--Mark Twain


Wed Apr 18, 2012 10:26 pm
Profile
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 5:54 am
Posts: 10789
Location: Tulsa, Oklahoma U.S.A.
Has thanked: 3569 times
Have thanks: 857 times
Post # 298823
Post Re: flashplayer - mozilla upgrade
lucky9 wrote:
I do not have the multimedia repository enabled and that command (the first one) does work.

_________________
Yes, even I am dishonest. Not in many ways, but in some. Forty-one, I think it is.
--Mark Twain


Wed Apr 18, 2012 10:26 pm
Profile
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 11, 2006 10:42 pm
Posts: 4326
Has thanked: 114 times
Have thanks: 868 times
Post # 298825
Post Re: flashplayer - mozilla upgrade
[delete]

_________________
Desktop: Custom build Asus/AMD/nVidia -- MEPIS 11
Netbook: Fujitsu Lifebook Pentium M -- MX-14
Laptop: Acer Aspire 5250 AMD Dual -- SolydK 64


Wed Apr 18, 2012 10:47 pm
Profile
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 5:54 am
Posts: 10789
Location: Tulsa, Oklahoma U.S.A.
Has thanked: 3569 times
Have thanks: 857 times
Post # 298826
Post Re: flashplayer - mozilla upgrade
Get'in old when you can't tell the difference between quote and edit.

_________________
Yes, even I am dishonest. Not in many ways, but in some. Forty-one, I think it is.
--Mark Twain


Wed Apr 18, 2012 10:50 pm
Profile
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 11, 2006 10:42 pm
Posts: 4326
Has thanked: 114 times
Have thanks: 868 times
Post # 298827
Post Re: flashplayer - mozilla upgrade
lucky9 wrote:
Get'in old when you can't tell the difference between quote and edit.


With your posts it's hard to tell what the hell you're doing.

_________________
Desktop: Custom build Asus/AMD/nVidia -- MEPIS 11
Netbook: Fujitsu Lifebook Pentium M -- MX-14
Laptop: Acer Aspire 5250 AMD Dual -- SolydK 64


Wed Apr 18, 2012 10:52 pm
Profile
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 5:54 am
Posts: 10789
Location: Tulsa, Oklahoma U.S.A.
Has thanked: 3569 times
Have thanks: 857 times
Post # 298828
Post Re: flashplayer - mozilla upgrade
That's because I don't know what I'm doing.....but I'm having fun!

_________________
Yes, even I am dishonest. Not in many ways, but in some. Forty-one, I think it is.
--Mark Twain


Wed Apr 18, 2012 10:58 pm
Profile
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice

Joined: Mon Apr 16, 2012 9:31 am
Posts: 3
Has thanked: 0 time
Have thanks: 0 time
Post # 298887
Post Re: flashplayer - mozilla upgrade
benny_fletch wrote:
Having just recently upgraded flash on both my systems I know the command Stevo mentioned works. I use the following variation (from another post by Stevo btw):
Code:
su -c 'update-flashplugin-nonfree --install'

If that still doesn't work, my suggestion would be to disable the Debian Multimedia Repo through Synaptic, click the reload button, close Synaptic, and then try the command again. From the little information I found on the subject on Google it seems to point to a problem with the checksum on the Multimedia Repo when a newer version of Flash is released. It happened to a few people going from version 10 to 10.1, the info I found is here: http://bugs.debian.org/cgi-bin/bugreport.cgi?bug=592598 Thus, when you try installing 11.2 with the above command, it is checking the sha512sum against an older version (say 11.1) hosted on the Multimedia Repo and you are receiving that error. This should eventually resolve itself if you want to wait.

So, it is only a guess, but I would try disabling the Multimedia Repo and then trying Stevo's command again. If it doesn't work, then I'm wrong about my hypothesis. :needcoffee:



Thanks

Will have a crack at it when i get home and get back to you

cheers
Bruce


Sat Apr 21, 2012 4:57 am
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 17 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Protected by Anti-Spam ACP Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by STSoftware for PTF.