Need help getting sound to work in M11

Problems with your sound card are to be posted here, as well as tutorials to share with others.
Message
Author
User avatar
Topher
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 874
Joined: Sun Feb 10, 2008 5:37 pm

Re: Need help getting sound to work in M11

#21 Postby Topher » Fri May 04, 2012 5:12 pm

I am home now and I think I found an answer to my first question. To have a system wide as opposed to user by user solution from: http://www.alsa-project.org/main/index.php/Asoundrc .
The asoundrc file is typically installed in a user's home directory
$HOME/.asoundrc
and is called from
/usr/share/alsa/alsa.conf
It is also possible to install a system wide configuration file as
/etc/asound.conf
When an alsa application starts both configuration files are read
.
I'll work on that come Monday.
I can see that what I have at home is different than I have in the computer lab. Right clicking on the icon in the tray brings up the Select the Master Channel Pop-up. And at home I have all kinds of channels to choose from, whereas at the lab there are NO choices. At home Clicking on the Current mixer drop down and choosing a different mixer shows different channels to choose from. But in the lab there are NO choices of channels no matter which Current mixer I choose from the drop-down box. Also at home the two choices I have for a Current mixer have different names, and at the lab they both have the same name.
MX15 MoBo ASUS M4A88TD-V EVO/USB3 CPU AMD Phenom II X4 945 PSU CORSAIR CX500 (CMPSU-500CX) RAM Crucial CT2KIT25664BA1339 HD WD5000AAKX Wireless EDIMAX EW 7128g

User avatar
Topher
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 874
Joined: Sun Feb 10, 2008 5:37 pm

Re: Need help getting sound to work in M11

#22 Postby Topher » Tue May 08, 2012 3:48 pm

I am getting nowhere and seem to be over my head. I can't choose a master channel and have volume control from the KMix icon in the system tray. Since we very very seldom want sound from all the computers anyway, it is mostly turned way down and probably won't even be noticed. I did try Kubuntu 12.04 and the sound worked out of the box without any further set-up needed. It uses the 3.2.0-23-generic-pae kernel, so I guess I need a newer kernel. I'll wait for the next release.
MX15 MoBo ASUS M4A88TD-V EVO/USB3 CPU AMD Phenom II X4 945 PSU CORSAIR CX500 (CMPSU-500CX) RAM Crucial CT2KIT25664BA1339 HD WD5000AAKX Wireless EDIMAX EW 7128g

User avatar
m_pav
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
Posts: 2520
Age: 49
Joined: Sun Aug 06, 2006 3:02 pm

Re: Need help getting sound to work in M11

#23 Postby m_pav » Wed May 09, 2012 3:42 am

You refer to 2 distinctly different machines, making comparisons between them. I have the impression you would like to see the same level of controls on the system that has no sound, but this portion is totally hardware dependent, to a point.

My wifes PC uses a similar motherboard and her sound operates mostly normally, some components do not work such as audio through the HDMI port. Her system uses the 2nd to last M11 beta.

You can have a later kernel now if you want by adding and enabling the Debian Backports repo, but you'll be partially hampered by the ageing xorg provided in M11 and the same with KDE 4.3.
Mike P

Regd Linux User #472293
(Mine)Lenovo T550, i7-5600U, 16GB, 128GB SSD + 1.0TB HDD, MX15 64-bit
(Wifes) Asus M4A88TD-M, AMD Phenom II x4 955 CPU, nVidia GF610, 6Gb, 500GB+320GB, MX14 + KDE
(Kids) Intel NUC, J1900, 4GB, 64GB SSD, MX14 + KDE

User avatar
richb
Administrator
Posts: 13019
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 2:17 pm

Re: Need help getting sound to work in M11

#24 Postby richb » Wed May 09, 2012 6:21 am

m_pav wrote:You can have a later kernel now if you want by adding and enabling the Debian Backports repo, but you'll be partially hampered by the ageing xorg provided in M11 and the same with KDE 4.3.

A newer xorg can also be obtained from Debian Backports.
Forum Rules
Guide - How to Ask for Help

Rich

Laptop: Acer V5-572G: Intel i5, 12 GIG mem, Intel graphics, SanDisk SSD, 256GB
Virtualbox: Win 7
Desktop: MX-15- 64, AMD A8 7600 FM2+ CPU R7 Graphics, fglrx driver, 16 GIG Mem. Samsung EVO SSD 250 GB

User avatar
lucky9
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 12345
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 5:54 am

Re: Need help getting sound to work in M11

#25 Postby lucky9 » Wed May 09, 2012 6:40 am

Either or both will require a video driver reinstall.
Yes, even I am dishonest. Not in many ways, but in some. Forty-one, I think it is.
--Mark Twain

User avatar
Topher
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 874
Joined: Sun Feb 10, 2008 5:37 pm

Re: Need help getting sound to work in M11

#26 Postby Topher » Wed May 09, 2012 5:37 pm

Thanks for the suggestions. By using m_pav's instructions, the right way, I can get sound to work, just cannot control the volume. But in the lab setting you just don't want all 12 computers with sound anyway and it is usually set to very very soft anyway. My concern was being able to demonstrate to potential users of Linux that sound was indeed available. I didn't want some difficult person to point out to the class that sound didn't work from the internet and turn everyone else off from trying Linux as everything in MS just works (or so they keep telling me). But being a noob, I 'll wait for the next version to come out. And I have another project to try to learn for the lab - virtual box. I'll probably need some help with that
MX15 MoBo ASUS M4A88TD-V EVO/USB3 CPU AMD Phenom II X4 945 PSU CORSAIR CX500 (CMPSU-500CX) RAM Crucial CT2KIT25664BA1339 HD WD5000AAKX Wireless EDIMAX EW 7128g


Return to “Sound”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests