MX & MEPIS Community Forum

Linux operating systems based on Debian Stable
View unanswered posts | View unsolved topics | View active topics |



Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 
IP's scambled 
Author Message
Online
Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 2:17 pm
Posts: 10808
Location: Rochester NY
Has thanked: 870 times
Have thanks: 1500 times
Post # 300081
Post IP's scambled
May be of help to others. I have four devices connected to my wireless router. This morning I could not print to my wireless printer. I discovered that the IP addresses were switched. Resetting them to the correct devices corrected the problem.

_________________
Forum Rules
Guide - How to Ask for Help
Link to Wiki
Rich

Production: Acer Laptop V5-572G: Intel i5, 12 GIG mem, nVidia GT720M/Intel integrated graphics
Mx-14.2 Symbiosis
Virtualbox: Windows 7
Alternate: Kubuntu 14.10, KDE 4.11.2


Mon May 21, 2012 12:39 pm
Profile
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 30, 2008 8:06 pm
Posts: 2952
Has thanked: 52 times
Have thanks: 376 times
Post # 300082
Post Re: IP's scambled
seems odd that that would happen... IPs, even with DHCP shouldn't be rearranged, especially with the usual default long lease times that are used.

did you have a power surge/outage? i'd make sure your firmware is up to date, and perhaps a reboot of your router (if it's left constantly on) is in order.

i know i've had weird, frustrating networking issues with default firmwares only to have the issues go completely away with the installation of dd-wrt firmware.


Mon May 21, 2012 12:43 pm
Profile
Online
Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 2:17 pm
Posts: 10808
Location: Rochester NY
Has thanked: 870 times
Have thanks: 1500 times
Post # 300084
Post Re: IP's scambled
GoManutd wrote:
seems odd that that would happen... IPs, even with DHCP shouldn't be rearranged, especially with the usual default long lease times that are used.

did you have a power surge/outage? i'd make sure your firmware is up to date, and perhaps a reboot of your router (if it's left constantly on) is in order.

i know i've had weird, frustrating networking issues with default firmwares only to have the issues go completely away with the installation of dd-wrt firmware.

I thought it odd as well. Never occurred before. Firmware is up to date, manufacturers version. I will try a router reboot if it happens again, but as of now everything is communicating correctly.

It is possible an undetected power outage occurred over night. However the desktop computer which is always on, did not reboot, which happens if there is a power outage.

_________________
Forum Rules
Guide - How to Ask for Help
Link to Wiki
Rich

Production: Acer Laptop V5-572G: Intel i5, 12 GIG mem, nVidia GT720M/Intel integrated graphics
Mx-14.2 Symbiosis
Virtualbox: Windows 7
Alternate: Kubuntu 14.10, KDE 4.11.2


Mon May 21, 2012 12:53 pm
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 3 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Protected by Anti-Spam ACP Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by STSoftware for PTF.